KAMM Committees

KAMM Committees

We encourage KAMM members to participate in KAMM committees.   Participation in committees allows KAMM members to promote issues, challenges, and best practices that are important to them as well as an opportunity to network.  KAMM members should be recruited to assist in committee activities, develop ground rules, and delegate activities.  Ultimately, the committees will help develop and recommend policy to the KAMM Board.

Follow the links:


Road to Forming Committees – What Topics Interest KAMM Members

Mitigation Topics by Priority

  • Flood Mitigation 
  • Floodplain Regulations/ Code Enforcement 
  • Mapping and Engineering Standards   
  • Stormwater Management   
  • GIS / Geospatial / LiDar   
  • Emergency Management (response and recovery)
  • Professional Development  
  • Education, Training, Outreach, Social media   
  • Water Resources   
  • Structural Mitigation (dams, levees, etc…)   
  • Green Infrastructure
  • Weather Related Hazards and Mitigation   
  • Infrastructural (bridges, culverts)   
  • Water Quality   
  • Flood Insurance   
  • Wetlands / Stream Restoration   
  • Planning & Zoning   
  • Nonstructural Floodproofing   
  • Geologic Hazards: Karst/Landslide/Earthquake 
  • Silver Jackets   Corps of Engineers   

Link to the Mitigation Topics Survey and Results from 2015 Conference Attendees.


Conference Committee Contacts

Each committee has an assigned Committee Lead and/or a KAMM Board member/s as a mentor.  Contact KAMM’s Committee Chairs at help@kymitigation.org or kentuckymitigation@gmail.com.


Chair – Alex VanPelt

Emergency Management Committee

Chair – Troy Williams; Board Mentor Moose Massey

Membership and Professional Development Committee

Chair – Katherine Osborne; Board Mentor Meghan Brown

Awards and Grants

Chair – Mario Sebastiani

Conference Committee

Chair- Angela Herndon

Kentucky Vulnerable to Multi-hazards

  • Dam Failure
  • Drought
  • Earthquake
  • Extreme Temperature
  • Flood
  • Hail Storm
  • Karst/Sinkhole
  • Mine/Land Subsidence
  • Landslide
  • Severe Storm
  • Severe Winter Storm
  • Tornado
  • Forest Fire






Mitigation Matters!

KAMM mailing address: KAMM, PO Box 1016, Frankfort, KY 40602-1016.

Have questions? Contact us at kentuckymitigation@gmail.com.  

Don’t forget to join the KAMM group on Facebook or LinkedIn.