KAMM Association and Board Info


KAMM Association Information

The Kentucky Association of Mitigation Managers (KAMM) was formed in order to promote natural hazard mitigation and management in Kentucky. Our members represent local, state and federal officials, floodplain coordinators, planning and zoning officials, engineers, surveyors, GIS specialists, hydrologists, public safety and emergency managers.

KAMM is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) as of October 21, 2016.

To join KAMM, link to Join KAMM.


KAMM’s Logo

We are thrilled with our new colorful KAMM logo!!

On KAMM’s fifteen this year anniversary, it seemed appropriate to revisit KAMM’s logo.  The past logo only emphasizes Kentucky’s number one natural hazard – flooding – and has remained unchanged through KAMM’s first decade and a half.  We wanted a refresh to kick off our 15th celebration. 

To suit our growing and ever-changing membership base, we would like to introduce a logo that is more inclusive to the hazards of the Commonwealth.  Let’s walk through the new KAMM logo that symbolizes the categories of natural hazards. 

  • The familiar rippling water symbol remains, as Kentucky must always prepare for floods as our number one hazard.
  • Note rocks sliding down KAMM’s “K” that represent our geologic hazards (landslides, sinkholes and earthquakes).
  • Straight-line winds, hail, and severe weather are signified by the whirl of a tornado.
  • Wildfire and forest fires are denoted by the orange flames around burning trees.

Finally, we have encapsulated our natural hazards symbols within the boundary of the Commonwealth, representing that we are in this together.  We are KAMM Family.



KAMM Bylaws and Constitution

March 2022 – Updated KAMM Bylaws

March 2016 – KAMM Constitution


KAMM Board Members

Contact KAMM’s Board members at help@kymitigation.org.


Esther White, Chair








Geni Jo Brawner, Vice Chair






Ben Conley, Treasurer








Nick Grinstead – Secretary




Mike Greene, Immediate Past Chair, At-Large Representative








Alex VanPelt, At-Large Representative







Carey Johnson, Chair Emeritus







KAMM Regions

KAMM is divided into four regions.

To learn more about the regional training schedule and annual recaps, link to KAMM Regional Info.


KAMM Four Regional Representatives

Contact KAMM’s Regional Representatives at help@kymitigation.org.


Angela Herndon – Region I Representative








Joe Sullivan – Region II Representative







Mario Sebastiani– Region III Representative






Kevin Miller – Region IV Representative




Mitigation Matters

KAMM mailing address: KAMM, PO Box 1016, Frankfort, KY 40602-1016.

Have questions, contact us at help@kymitigation.org.  

Don’t forget to join the KAMM group on LinkedIn.